The race has started in downtown Anchorage since 1983. The teams leave the start line at the corner of 4th and “D” at two minute intervals, starting at 10 a.m.

There are an average of 65 teams starting the race each year.

The mushers follow multi-use trails through Anchorage to Campbell Airstrip, an 11 mile run.

An IditaRider auction is held each year whereby fans can bid to be a rider in a musher’s sled from the start line for the first 11 miles. This auction opens on December 1 and closes at a specific time and date in January each year. The mone...